Main Menu




KISS Rock The Nation DVD

Filmed in 2004 at Washington DC and Virginia Beach, the long awaited Rock The  Nation DVD has finally arrived in the UK. First thing you'll notice is that it's been split onto 2 DVD's when it could've perhaps fitted on one, but this may have something to do with the 'KISS Powervision' feature.


Aside from the concert there are a few behind the scenes extras and the KISS Powervision stuff. Basically, this allows you to view some songs from different camera angles. If you ever saw the Detroit Rock City live video from the film of the same name you'll have seen this before. The only difference is that each of the different camera angles are displayed on the screen in small boxes on the left (see picture below), this takes up a lot of the screen and gets a little annoying, but it can be turned off.

The format of the DVD is as follows:-

Disk 1

  • Love Gun
    The show starts with Love Gun, as always a great song but I still prefer Deuce as an opener, good job it's on next then
  • Deuce
  • Makin’ Love
    At last! A song that doesn't get played live very often, this one is superb about time stuff like this appeared on a KISS dvd.
  • The Dressing Room
    Short footage of all 4 of them putting on the make-up before the show
  • Lick It Up
  • Christine Sixteen
    Again this one hasn't been played for a while and makes a nice return. However this is song #1 where Gene like to make up the lyrics as he goes along (I swear it's different every time he sings it!)
  • Photo Shoots
    Another break from the concert, this time showing us behind the scenes of one of the photo shoots
  • She
    Another blast from the past, and this one sounds great, close your eyes and you're almost back to the 70's....
  • Tears Are Falling
    Lick It Up aside, it's not often they bring back 80's material. I used to like hearing this live when they played it during the Revenge tour, this version still sounds good but Tommy can't nail the solo like Bruce used to.
  • Got To Choose
  • Meet & Greets
    Pay for a Platinum Meet & Greet ticket? Then you may be on here, it shows various fans getting their photos taken. At first I though it was kinda funny hearing the band talking about how they go out of the way to meet fans (knowing that they paid a $$$ fortune). But Paul does acknowledge that they paid more to meet them.
  • I Love It Loud
    Song #2 where Gene decides to make it up as he goes along.
  • Love Her All I Can
    Okay now were talking, I've been waiting ages for this to make an appearance again ever since hearing Anthrax's rendition. Brilliant stuff.
  • I Want You
  • Soundchecks
    This bit is cool but not long enough! You get to see the band on stage without make-up doing a soundcheck. This includes some small parts from The Elder.
  • Parasite

Disk 2

  • War Machine
    Another song that had been neglected since the reunion, this classic from Creatures makes a welcome return.
  • 100,000 Years
  • The Theatre Shows
    This bit shows some of the theater shows from Australia.
  • Unholy
    This one replaced God Of Thunder and is therefore where Gene does his flying bit. I love this song and am usually disappointed by the live versions, but this one doesn't sound too bad.
  • Shout It Out Loud
  • On The Road
    Shows the guys driving and flying on their private jet between shows.
  • I Was Made For Lovin’ You
    Rather than flying out into the crowd on Love Gun, Paul does his flying bit here on I Was Made.
  • Detroit Rock City
  • God Gave Rock ‘N’ Roll To You II
    Great version of God Gave, it features video of various other bands throughout the song along with some classic KISS footage,
  • Rock And Roll All Nite
    Great end to a great show, Paul does his political rap before the song starts.
  • Goin' Blind from Sydney
  • Backstage from Perth
    This is cool, features the band without make-up singing parts of GGRARTY, I Pledge Allegiance and others.
  • Photo Gallery

Lets face it, we've been waiting for a new live KISS DVD for a long time, and this one delivers. The editing in it is very good, what you see is what you hear, no dodgy over dubbing. There are however one or two bits where you see the footage from one of the 2 shows and see it from another (like when you can hear Paul during I Love It Loud and yet he isn't singing). Apart from that this is a great DVD and is definitely a must for anyone's collection. It's out over here on the 23rd January 2006.